Carlos Eduardo Suprinyak

Associate Professor, Department Chair


Professor Suprinyak joined AUP in 2021, after working for 10 years at the Federal University of Minas Gerais (UFMG), in Brazil. He was also a visiting fellow at the University of Chicago, Duke University, and Université Lumière Lyon 2, and a guest lecturer at the University of Barcelona and the Higher School of Economics in Moscow. He is currently Vice President of the Latin American Society for the History of Economic Thought (ALAHPE) and Secretary of the History of Economics Society (HES). He is also a co-editor of Research in the History of Economic Thought and Methodology (RHETM).

Suprinyak specializes in the history of political economy, with background training in economic methodology, economic history, international trade theory, and development economics. His research explores the intersections between economics and politics in different historical settings: early modern arguments about trade policy, the reconstruction of the world order in interwar Europe, and the shaping of the economics profession in Latin America during the Cold War.

Besides numerous papers in peer-reviewed journals, Suprinyak is co-editor of The Political Economy of Latin American Independence (Routledge, 2017) and Political Economy and International Order in Interwar Europe (Palgrave, 2020). His scholarship has been recognized with multiple awards. In 2017 and again in 2023, he won the Craufurd Goodwin Best Article in the History of Economics Prize, awarded by the History of Economics Society. He also received the 2019 ESHET Young Researcher Award, given by the European Society for the History of Economic Thought for outstanding contributions to the history of economics by scholars under 40 years of age.


Habilitation à Diriger des Recherches en Sciences Économiques, Université Bourgogne - Franche-Comté (2021)
Ph.D. in Economics, Universidade Federal de Minas Gerais (2010)
M.A. in Economic History, Universidade Estadual Paulista (2006)
B.A. in Economics, Universidade Federal do Paraná (2004)